inspiration

More love for Crystal Renn

Let’s have some more photos of my favorite model, shall we?

classic curves

“I got to my lowest point, when I couldn’t go lower, and it was either, `I’m going to die and not accomplish the dream,’ or, `I can become a plus-size model and keep the dream. I am healthy now, the healthiest I’ve ever been in my life — both physically and mentally.”

before
after

“Having had an eating disorder, I was obsessed with numbers and percentages – how many minutes have I been on the treadmill, how many calories have I consumed today? When you start obsessing about numbers you get nowhere. It really is about, you know, finding balance and moderation within yourself and are you healthy.”

beauty comes in all shapes and sizes
hot.

“If they judge me for not being big enough, is that not the same as judging me for not being thin enough? When do we stop? My size shouldn’t matter. Let’s get rid of straight size and plus size. It’s bullshit. Just say model. Full stop.”

One thought on “More love for Crystal Renn

  1. I also adore this woman. I think in some ways the roll of ‘back fat’ I have seen on her in some photographs is a little unhealthy, as a large blanket layer of fat near to certain organs is a problem, however we don’t know whether she has been photoshopped to look bigger, as she was probably photoshopped to look smaller when she was a thin model. I do believe it’s very brave of her to speak so candidly about her experiences and she should be respected for it. As a UK size 14 I am an hourglass at 39-31-40 and reasonable height at 5’7″ – reading through some of your blog entries I think we must be similar sizes. I also diet, although it’s been a very gradual process for me as I believe the slower the better to give your body time to adjust and not ‘hoard’ fat reserves. Starting in February 2009 I kept a food diary that didn’t restrict me from eating, just made me aware of normal portion sizes again. A week before Christmas I reached my goal of 10st 7lb – I started at 13st 5lb. I have since gone up and down a little and my weight has been settled a couple of pounds up or down from 11 stone since January 2010. I think this is probably the weight my body naturally maintains as I have stopped the food diary – I don’t think I need it anymore, although it was a useful crutch. I have lost 6 inches from my waist, and that’s the most important part because as I say, it’s the major organs you don’t want that blanket of fat on! It’s clearly an airbrushed image, but Renn’s lingerie shoot at the bottom is certainly what I would aspire to for body shape and I don’t know any men who’d disagree!
    Your blog is fabulous and I will be following it.
    Good luck with your goal, but don’t race against yourself. It took me just over 9 months to reach my target weight, but the secret to keeping it off was to take my time. 🙂

Leave a Reply

