Weight

202

I do like to go on about how numbers don’t matter and it’s all about how you feel.  But there are certain numbers, usually ones that end in zero, that have special significance.  I am approaching one of those numbers.

I use the big doctor’s office type scale at the gym to weigh myself.  Not having a scale at home is a very good thing for me.  I’m a curious person.  I wouldn’t be surprised if I would weigh myself several times a day.  Definitely not necessary.

I think I’ve mentioned before that it always feels like a special victory to get to move into a new 20 pound chunk, and the most special chunk of all is slowly approaching.  I say slowly because it has been 15 months since I started losing weight.  It has been like approaching a mountain.

I have had a nice time in the 200 chunk.  I’ve felt pretty great for almost the whole thing.  I learned to run in the 200 chunk.

So many special things are going to happen in the 180 chunk.

At 199, I will weigh less than 200 pounds.

At 187, I will have lost 100 pounds.

At 180, I will have reached the goal I set for myself when I started.

But, I’m not quite there yet.  I’m not sure whether to try extra hard to lose these 3 pounds faster or just to keep my zen, let it be kind of attitude.  I’ve gotten a little superstitious about it.  A watched pot never boils, and a watched scale never changes?

It’s better to be pleasantly surprised than disappointed.

One thought on “202

  1. I am striving for the Zen you seem to have mastered. I know exactly what you mean about trying to lose these important 3 pounds faster – that instant gratification thing. We have all been conditioned to want everything faster, right now if at all possible. Wanting to be there NOW instead of when your body feels comfortable.
    Human body doesn’t work like that. Everything tends to happen slowly and that’s a good thing. I can only dream of a moment when I can really do the “let it be attitude”. You already seem to be pretty comfortable there. Way to go!

Leave a Reply

