Dangerous Diet of the Day

Dangerous Diet of the Day – hCG

As a long time member of a certain weight loss site, I’ve noticed weight loss fads come and go.  Like tides, they ebb and flow- Alli, Atkins, South Beach, Weight Watchers, Nutrisystem, Gastric Bypass, Lap Band, Fasting, Detoxes, Cleanses, Pills, pills, pills…

Diets are becoming more extreme and more dangerous the more obese we become as a society.  It is outrageously out of control and people will try ANYTHING.  I know this from first hand experience.  I used to be that desperate person looking for the miracle to take away all my terribly cursed weight.

So, I have decided to dedicate my blog to the “Dangerous Diet of the Day” whenever one of these insane ploys catches my attention.

SO, without further ado, today’s Dangerous Diet of the Day is…

Simeon’s Protocol, hCG

The basic premise is that you inject yourself with a pregnancy hormone called hCG (Human chorionic gonadotrophin) which supposedly makes it okay to go on a Very Low Calorie Diet (VLCD) of 500 calories a day or less (yes you read that correctly) and causes you to “shed abnormal fat” without losing muscle or feeling hungry.

These are the terms they use for this stuff, not my words.  I would call a “VLCD” starvation  500 calories a day is not enough to support your bodily functions.  The claim is that the hCG makes your body not starve even though you are starving it.  There is no proof to back this up, though they will point you to numerous “studies” that back up the claims.

“Shedding abnormal fat” is another odd phrase.  This “diet” seems to be very appealing to people who are already quite thin.   I have observed this myself on the diet site and also by reading some of the hCG propaganda that is so widespread on the internet.  Here’s a disturbing example:

HCG Diet Success: “I am down from a size 4-6 to a size 00”

She is 5 feet tall and weighed 107.2 lbs at the time of the first appointment. Based on her height and weight her starting BMI (body mass index) was 21. Conventionally, most people, doctors and lay people alike, don’t see anything wrong with that. However, this patient knew that she had an excessive amount of abnormal fat. She was especially concerned about the abnormal fat on her buttocks and thighs. However, she reported that none of her doctors was willing to treat her.

Really?  This alleged 107 pound woman had “an excessive amount of abnormal fat”?  I think not.  This story has eating disorder written all over it.

But just for a moment, let’s entertain the idea that this woman did have some tiny miniscule amount of extra padding that nobody in the world ever noticed but her, preventing her from being the size 00 she always wanted to be.  Why would it be okay to starve yourself and inject black market pregnancy hormones simply to satisfy your vanity?  Your health should be much more important!

People often counter my arguments about dangerous diets with “but obesity is just as dangerous.”  First of all, it isn’t.  It is far worse for you to yo-yo than just be fat.  Second of all, many people who are doing these extreme “diets” aren’t in a weight range that could at all be considered obese, or even overweight.

Of course in my opinion, it isn’t okay to starve yourself whether you are big or small.

Now before you run off to find out where YOU can get this delectable diet miracle injection that will allow you to starve yourself down to nothing but skin and bones, remember that illegally obtaining prescription drugs is a felony.  This drug IS approved by the FDA, but not for weight loss.

If you’re still really interested in doing it, please read this:

HCG Worthless as Weight-Loss Aid

Human chorionic gonadotrophin (HCG) is a hormone found in the urine of pregnant women. More than 50 years ago, Dr. Albert T. Simeons, a British-born physician, contended that HCG injections would enable dieters to subsist comfortably on a 500-calorie-a-day diet. He claimed that HCG would mobilize stored fat; suppress appetite; and redistribute fat from the waist, hips, and thighs. There is no scientific evidence to support these claims. Moreover, a 500-calorie (semi-starvation) diet is likely to result in loss of protein from vital organs, and HCG can cause other adverse effects.

Interestingly enough, this is NOT a new diet.  It has been around for over 40 years.  It made a come back in 2007 when Kevin Trudeau published a book called “The Weight Loss Cure They Don’t Want You to Know About”

Kevin Trudeau, infomercial king and convicted felon.  I think I’d take weight loss advice from someone else.

6 thoughts on “Dangerous Diet of the Day – hCG

  1. Yikes! I don’t know how desperate you’d have to be to even entertain the idea of using this “miracle diet.” But I guess there are a lot of desperate people out there.

  2. I came here from the Medusa blog…
    Erm…I’m actually sat here feeling quite…horrified??
    It sounds like a load of pseudoscience bollocks, taking advantage of people’s insecurities. Abnormal fat?? Really?? Who came up with that? What is this ‘abnormal’ fat? Is it, say, that little layer that everyone actually needs? Or is it some form of strange alien parasite?? It sounds like some sort of scare tactic..
    I used to work in a bookshop, back when the Atkins diet became really popular again in 2003. I can’t quite emphasise just how many copies sold…it was ridiculous, and each time I just wanted to say to the customer: DON’T DO IT!! Oh, and then came along the South Beach Diet craze…
    It actually really makes me sad.

    1. I’m with you on the ‘what is “abnormal fat?”. Is it not distributed evenly so one half of a person is fat and the other half is a skeleton? Does it talk? Does it constantly move? What exactly makes this fat “abnormal”? How do you know if you have “abnormal” fat?

      If this fat is “abnormal”, I think it should be a bigger news story. The public needs to know the dangers of “abnormal” fat! *eye roll*

  3. I am not a fan of the HCG diet, but I must point out that it is not a felony to obtain drugs without a prescription in the US, as long as you have not stolen them. It is illegal for sellers to sell meds online in some other countries, yes. Not in the USA however.

  4. I know someone who is doing this. She has lost a lot of weight, and because of that she is intent on doing this for as long as possible. I’m not a fan of it, but then I do not want to be (1) on a constant yoyo cycle of 3 weeks of eating only 500 calories (and only certain types of food) a day = I believe it’s called deprivation, then 3 weeks of eating whatever I want, (2) continuously taking the hormone (well, I can’t afford it), (3) having to give up my social life (imagine being surrounded by food and drinks when you are on a 500-calorie a day diet), and (4) not having enough energy to have an active life (sorry, but I love to run). I do wish her all the luck.

Leave a Reply

