Weight

189

For the first time in my life, I find myself beautiful. My appearance has changed dramatically, both my face and my body.

But more importantly, my mind has changed. I can accept myself, flaws and all. I don’t need to be perfect to be worthy of love.

My outlook has changed on so many levels. I now understand that I need to feel my emotions, even when they are painful. I need to be present and honest with myself as much as possible. I know now that the pain of sadness is cleansing and avoiding it by drinking or overeating is damaging in the long term. The pain passes much more quickly when I allow myself to feel it fully.

My life is not easy. I suspect noone’s is. But I know that it is up to me to make the best of what I have, be it my family, my money, or my body.

There is nothing more freeing than feeling comfortable with yourself. I no longer hide from cameras or avoid reuinions with those I haven’t recently seen. I no longer feel uncomfortable getting up in front of people. I feel positively exhilarated.

I want you to know, if you are reading this, you can change yourself both physically and mentally. The trick is to give it time. Make new habits. They feel strange at first, but the human ability to adapt is endless. All you really need is time. You are worth it.

3 thoughts on “189

  1. Well done, Kate. As ever, your blog is so encouraging and speaks so much good sense. Congratulations on your success. You deserve to love yourself.

    Chrissy

  2. For me this realization that you are describing is key. I am soon 48 years old and never felt quite comfortable in my skin always looking for something. In the 70’s and early 80’s I tried illegal chemicals and smoking materials to ease the uneasiness of life. In the 90’s until now it was food. Trying to gain back some of my youth just recently I tried some medicinal Marijauana (haven’t smoked since 1983! ouch) , and came to the realization that I don’t need any of that. “I want to be a real girl”, like the story of Pinnoccio. I am my best, happiest me when I am free from all of that. Did you come up with this saying? “Motivation doesn’t give you the strength to do things. Doing things gives you motivation.”, So many things you write about resonate with me right now, I am ready to take on this new found power for it has been so liberating. Writing is so therapeutic for me, thanks for your words, your truth, being you. TOWANDA!!

Leave a Reply

