Weight

167

My current weight is 167 pounds, which is 120 pounds lighter than where I started over two years ago. I feel good at this weight. I don’t really want to lose any more.

There was a time when I was convinced this would never happen. It really has nothing to do with my weight though, it’s a mental shift. I don’t think there is any one weight a body must be. This one is good!

I might still lose weight but I am not trying to anymore. I am trying a new thing: Eating when I am hungry.

Novel idea right? I read a little book called On Eating by Susie Orbach and she talks about listening to our bodies’ signals about when, what, and how much to eat. It is an intriguingly simple way to approach eating. I’m trying it out and it has been enlightening so far. One thing I’ve noticed is that if I don’t eat when I feel hungry, the feeling dissipates and does not return for some time. Hours.

It’s like a bell “ding ding ding!” eating time. Missed the bell? You still have to remember to eat, it doesn’t mean you aren’t hungry. Of course this works for me now at this stage in my life because I am used to eating moderate portions at regular intervals. I think if you binge or restrict too much your hunger bell short-circuits. But it can be fixed. Mine seems to work in quite the timely fashion now. I just have to pay attention.

Hunger is really easy for me to ignore. It will go away and leave me alone if I ignore it. But it will come back with a much more demanding feeling later- and I think this is one reason people binge. The bell becomes an siren and eventually you will listen to it whether you plan to or not.

I like the idea that I might be able to maintain my weight loss just by listening to the signals my body sends me, so I am going to really give a lot of effort to trying to follow the signals as faithfully as possibly in the hope it will make my hunger bell more accurate.

I hope to never hear the siren. It is loud and hurts my brain.

6 thoughts on “167

  1. k8 hi, I am right there with you as far as tuning in and listening carefully to my body. You have made some great points about the hunger meter. Here are some of my thoughts. Eating a reasonable portion of mostly healthy food and waiting 20 minutes to see if the ravenous hunger dissapates. Knowing the difference between emotional and physical hunger. Seeing how long some food choice sustain the apetite or mood, keeping healthy food choice quickies nearby to keep the energy for a few hours, and feeling the energy whether it be low or high etc. Our body, mind and spirit work really well together if the emotional self doesn’t get in the way of our natural programming:) P.S. have you noticed we have an exercise meter too? If I listen my body will tell me I am lacking or to back off . This is fun to experiment with and is so very cool. I Love your writing, and appreciate you:) TOWANDA!!!

  2. “Hunger is really easy for me to ignore. It will go away and leave me alone if I ignore it. But it will come back with a much more demanding feeling later- and I think this is one reason people binge. The bell becomes an siren and eventually you will listen to it whether you plan to or not.”

    That really hit home. It is something I do frequently. Sometimes it is because I don’t want to eat, it has become like a negative thing instead of life sustaining nutrients. So today I ignored the lunch bell, worked on school work and about 2 pm it became a siren and I wanted so bad to eat everything bad for me, so I took a step back, realized it was just me being hungry and that if I gave in to the crazy cravings, it would be far worse than if I just fed the hunger normal and gave it some time to feel full. It worked. I was amazed, and then I went and read your blog for the first time tonight and this really stuck out. Thanks for sharing your road.

    1. I am very glad you found something helpful to you in it. I have come to feel that my body knows better than I do when and how much I should eat. And I am trying my best to listen.

Leave a Reply

