inspiration

Diet Tips from Along the Way

On the website I used to track calories and record my weight, each time I weighed in I submitted a diet tip when prompted.  These are snapshots of what I was thinking with each weigh in, reminders for myself, and celebrations of hard work paying off.  I have never gone back and read these until now.  Repeats are intentional and reflect real entries.  I figure that if I thought it was important enough to enter twice, it’s important enough to read twice.  If you only read one of my blog posts, make it this one.  It took me over two years to write it.

In chronological order:

An afternoon apple really seems to get my energy up for the gym after work. I realized that it is possible to eat too little and there is a delicate balance to lose weight but not slow your metabolism.

As you lose weight, you have to adjust your diet and exercise so you are burning more calories and/or consuming less calories AND it helps to strength train so you will naturally burn more calories with muscle.

It takes less calories to maintain a lower weight than it takes to maintain a higher weight.

Never give up.

If you aren’t sweating when you leave the gym, you’re doing something wrong.

Start each day brand new.  No beating yourself up for past mistakes, no negative thoughts about the future.

Face each choice with an analytical mind and give emotional responses time to pass. Ask yourself “Why do I want to eat this?” If the answer is anything other than “Because I am hungry” do not eat it and try to figure out what it is you really want.

Don’t become complacent. If it isn’t working, change it up.

One day at a time, change bad habits to good ones.

Keep pushing yourself harder every single time you exercise.

If you’re planning to have a treat in the evening such as alcohol or dessert, enter it into your food journal first thing in the morning and adjust the rest of your meals to make up for it.

The scale doesn’t tell the whole story- how do you feel? How do your clothes fit? How is your exercise progressing? What can you do that you couldn’t do before?

Reward yourself in ways other than with food. Even if it is small, consciously tell yourself “when I lose 5 more pounds, I will buy a new purse” or go to a movie, or whatever it is that you like.

An object in motion tends to remain in motion.

Eating right should also mean enjoying what you are eating to the fullest.

Eat when you are hungry.

Love yourself and you will WANT to do the best things for your health and body.

Focus on what you should eat, not what you shouldn’t.

Approach the scale with absolutely no expectations.  It is better to be pleasantly surprised than disappointed.

Physical activity should be a part of your life as regularly as possible.

Eat real food, not food-like substances.

Balance is the key. You can over exercise and you can under eat. You must find the right amount of food and exercise for your own body and lifestyle.

Don’t put a deadline on weight loss. Just determine that you WILL do it, no matter how long it takes.

There’s no such thing as an “off-limits” food, only an off-limit portion.

You can do it. The only thing you have to do is never give up!

You do not have to go hungry to lose weight.

Free yourself of the Diet Mentality. Weight loss is not a temporary endeavor. It is a lifetime commitment.

Take your time and have patience.

Never give up.

Listen to your body.  Sometimes it knows things you don’t know in your mind.

Don’t torture yourself to lose weight.  Losing weight can be a good experience instead of a stressful one if you decide it can be.

If you want chocolate, have a small piece of the best chocolate you can get. Quality, not quantity. You don’t have to give up every food you love.

Never give up.

Trust yourself. You can do anything you set your mind to.

You can’t give up on a lifestyle change. It has no end.

One day at a time.

Food isn’t only fuel, but also pleasure and celebration.

You can enjoy youself as long as you remember moderation.

It isn’t as complicated as you think.

You are beautiful.

Taking a break and maintaining your weight is good practice and it will also help restart your metabolism.

Taking care of yourself should be priority number one.

It isn’t as complicated as you think.

Patience. Patience, patience, patience.

Eat when you are hungry. Don’t when you’re not.

Stop eating when you are full.

There is really only one tip that matters: Never Give Up.

It doesn’t just take a long time, it takes the rest of your life.

Don’t diet. Change your life.

9 thoughts on “Diet Tips from Along the Way

  1. Nice blog! I agree with everything you’ve said (and that’s not often the case with me and blogs). It’s nice to read posts from someone with a level headed and intelligent approach towards eating.

  2. My favourite: You are beautiful.

    It brought tears to my eyes. For the first time in my life I am feeling that yes, it might be right, maybe I am beautiful! (I have lost 5kg and am aiming to lose 10kg more)

    Thank you for posting this on fs, it is perfect

  3. Okay, I have to admit: I’m a little star-struck by you. And I think if I met you IRL I’d giggle and get nervous and wouldn’t know what to say. You are a total rock star and I’m so glad to have found your blog! I’m going to print out this blog post and will refer back to it when my motivation is lagging and I’m feeling low. Thanks so much for the inspiration!!

Leave a Reply

