Weight

163

I realized recently that I haven’t been writing many blogs about my weight.  I’m happy to say that it’s pretty much a non-issue at this point.  I still weigh myself every morning.  My weight still bounces around in a 5 pound range rather predictably.  If I eat out and don’t drink my usual amount of water or do a heavy strength training work out, I’m guaranteed to be “up” the next day.  Conversely, if I’m eating my usual home-cooked veganish vegetarian good food and drinking plenty of water or sweating it out doing cardio, I’m “down” at the low end of my range.

The low end is 163 (saw 162 once, but I’m not ready to say that wasn’t just a fluke) and the high end is 167-168.  Generally, I stick around 164.  I don’t think about it much beyond weighing myself and recording it in the morning.

As far as what I’m eating these days, it’s becoming closer and closer to a vegan diet.  I’m not counting calories at all most of the time unless I do it to share a meal with Facebook.  Yoga pretty much immediately had the effect of making me slow down and eat more thoughtfully.  It is helping me feel much more in touch with my body.  I even spent a whole hour focusing on what my hungry belly felt like when I went to class before dinner.  I find myself wanting to pause between bites naturally rather than forcing myself to do so.  Perhaps this is just practice finally becoming habit, but I’m almost positive Yoga has something to do with it.

I haven’t taken measurements lately, but I can see some more differences in my body.  Starting to see some real definition in my shoulders, quads, and obliques.  Exciting!  I bought a pair of size 6 pants (vanity size for sure, but still!) and wear them with a big smile 🙂

So far I’m finding maintenance to be easy and joyous.  But to be honest, I found losing weight to be easy and joyous for about the last year of it.  I still poke my head into some diet forums, but there don’t seem to be too many other people like me who have embraced this new life without much struggle.  Perhaps it’s just my brain and being ready for the change.  I still see so many people, even in the maintenance section of forums, really brow-beating themselves and running around in circles getting all caught up in daily fluctuations and flagellating themselves for perceived failures (oh no a cookie snuck into my mouth!) when it really doesn’t make a difference.  Have a cookie, just don’t have 10!  Run an extra mile.  There, problem solved.  I just want people to know this doesn’t have to be difficult or painful if your mind is open to change.

A kind of interesting development I realized this weekend is that I don’t like drinking anymore!  Don’t get me wrong, I still like drinks.  Wine, margaritas, a really good beer… all these tastes are some of my favorite indulgences.  But I don’t like how it makes me feel anymore.  It makes me tired and then the next day I feel like I can’t get enough water no matter how much I drink.  Not sure what to do about this.  I’m sure as hell not going to be drinking any non-alcoholic beer or wine, because that’s just blasphemy.  Am I going to stop drinking altogether?  I very well may.  When I realized I don’t like drinking anymore, I was honestly surprised at myself.  My old drinking buddies surely would not believe it.

I’m basically happy with my body and life direction.  You can be happy and keep working on yourself.  Behold the light at the end of the tunnel!  You can find it if you keep looking.

5 thoughts on “163

  1. I’ve had more failed dieting attempts than it’s possible to count and am utterly exhausted by the cycle of restriction, falling “off the wagon” and total self-loathing that inevitably follows.
    I have set August 1st as the date that I will “plunge” into a healthier LIFESTYLE. The concept is very alluring, but I admit that I am still struggling mentally with exactly what that means.
    Your story inspires me. I wish that losing weight could become “easy and joyous” for me! More than anything, however, I want to find the happiness and self-satisfaction that you possess.
    I am excited to continue following your blog as I face these challenges on the journey to a healthier, happier me!

    1. Congratulations on starting to make the connection.
      I think a lot of people think the Lifestyle Change is just another type of diet. It is not. In fact, you don’t need to set a date to take a plunge, I recommend wading into the water one toe at a time then slowly inching in up to your knees, hips, waist and shoulders until your are swimming! That way there’s no shock of cold water to send you spinning. You get used to it and it feels warm and fuzzy. You don’t want to get out!
      The best time to start is RiGHT NOW!

  2. tammy1409– I agree that the slow gradual approach is best–just make the choice to drink more water this week–or make healthier choices about what to eat–or whatever seems like the thing to do right now.

    I am glad it is joyous for you! I can “hear” it too, which is why it is great to read you everyday (or so). I hope you get to keep your joy for a long, long time!

    About the alcohol: I used to drink quite a bit through my 20’s and 30’s. But, I got married at 33 and had my son at 34. I stopped drinking when I was pregnant, of coursand then just never really took it back up again. I do like the occaisional beer (and we’re talking maybe one or two a year) but, I too, don’t really like how I feel after I drink alcohol. Good for you for recognising it! I just want to encourage you to not drink if that’s your choice.

  3. Wonderful post! I feel like it took a while of failed diet mindsets for me to truly be ready to approach this as a lifestyle change. At this point my exercise and eating habits have become a part of who I am, and even if I make mistakes it doesn’t deter me because there is no diet or rules to break!

Leave a Reply

