Food

One Day of Food, Then and Now in Pictures

I got to thinking about how much the way I eat has morphed and changed over the years.  Believe me, I didn’t just wake up one day with good eating habits.  It was a process of metamorphoses and it continues to this day.  So I thought it would be fun to see how things have changed, in pictures.

The first picture is an estimate of what a day of food looked like for me before I started changing my habits.  Some days may have been better and some worse, but this is probably pretty typical of my old way of eating:

The way I used to eat

The second picture is an actual day from the first month I started counting calories.  It represents 1700 calories of food (estimated, because I wasn’t measuring anything then and who knows how many calories are really in a Gyro and fried zucchini!)  Starbucks iced coffee stayed.  I kept the cream and ditched the sugar.

A day of food from January 2009

And finally, this image is representative of the way I eat now.  Yes, the Starbucks is STILL here!  Now it has no sugar and almond milk instead of cream.  Hey, nobody’s perfect!

What I eat today

Keep changing, keep learning, keep evolving, keep growing!  There’s always room for improvement.  Don’t worry if you aren’t sure if you’re eating all the right things at first.  It’s Okay!  I lost quite a bit of weight eating the way that’s represented in the second picture.  You don’t have to be perfect to succeed.

11 thoughts on “One Day of Food, Then and Now in Pictures

  1. Great idea for a post and great change. The standout for me in the transformation was how in pic 1 you had lots of processed food and by pic 3 lots of natural. There was zero fruit in pic 1.
    Well done!

  2. The pictures are a great idea: makes me want to do the same for my own diet. Seeing what other people eat is a powerful force, and seeing healthy food is something I go out of my way to do. I have to! The world is full of images of foods that other people want us to eat, so when I get to see natural foods that other people eat, it’s exciting and validating. Relentless advertising can feel like a certain kind of food desert.

  3. Its amazing how the 3 picture of how you eat now looks more delicious than the 1st or second. Even though many people (inclusing myself) have eaten the 1st pic for years when you finally make that transition to loving veggies and fruit and cooking tasty healthy meals there’s no going back. Congrats on the success

Leave a Reply

