Cooking

Recipe: Soba Noodles and Broccoli with Peanut Sauce

Tasty, spicy, filling dish. Great hot or cold.

A note about my recipes:  I don’t count calories anymore.  I’ve been maintaining my weight and even losing a few bonus pounds without it for over 6 months.  I also don’t really measure anything when I cook anymore.  So my recipes are going to be a little “iffy” if you’re a strict calorie counter.  Of course, you can always enter the information into an online recipe calculator on MyFitnessPal, My FatSecret or numerous other sites.  I won’t be doing it anymore because I’m in a much more free-flowing mode of cooking now and it’s a tedious process I no longer need.  I eat when I’m hungry, stop when I’m full and this is working wonderfully for me!

Ingredients:

  • 1 package Soba (buckwheat) noodles
  • 3 heads of broccoli
  • handful of sundried tomatoes chopped
  • about 1/2 jar of natural peanut butter (I prefer chunky)
  • 1 tbsp unrefined peanut oil
  • soy sauce to taste
  • generous splash of rice vinegar
  • 3 serrano peppers finely chopped
  • 5 cloves of garlic minced
  • 1/2 red onion finely chopped
  • cayenne pepper
  • 2 cups water

Cooking:

  • In a sauce pan, heat peanut oil over medium heat.
  • Add onion and peppers and saute until moist, 2-3 minutes
  • Add garlic and continue sauteing for another minute until garlic is fragrant
  • Add water and bring to a boil
  • Add peanut butter, soy sauce, rice vinegar and spices
  • Reduce heat to medium and allow to continue cooking while finishing other steps, stirring frequently
  • In a large pot, boil water
  • Add noodles and broccoli and cook 6 minutes or until noodles are desired firmness
  • Drain noodles and broccoli in a pasta strainer
  • Toss everything together in a large bowl

Serve hot or cold (I prefer cold, my boyfriend prefers hot).  Makes about 6-8 servings.  This is not a low fat or low calorie dish, but it is very filling.  One of my favorite things to eat and the leftovers are even better.

2 thoughts on “Recipe: Soba Noodles and Broccoli with Peanut Sauce

Leave a Reply

