Yoga

Challenges

Let's do this!

Starting tomorrow, I commit to 30 days of yoga and 30 days of blogging.  I’ve been somewhat sporadic about blogging over the past few years, generally just writing when the mood strikes or when I think of a subject I am moved to expound upon.  So this should be an interesting adventure for me.  30 days of yoga will also be a change.  I will probably not be hitting the gym at all in the next 30 days, opting for yoga instead.  I always believe change  is a good thing and so is challenging yourself, so I’m really looking forward to this.  Thanks to Rosa and Ashley at Blissful Yoga for suggesting this to me.

I will be sharing my blogs with Blissful Yoga followers and members, so for those of you who don’t know me a quick introduction:  I’m Kate, I’m 33 and I’m an animator and digital artist.  This blog was started while I was on a journey to lose over 125 pounds.  No secrets, no magic- I changed my lifestyle slowly but surely and the weight came off.  It took me over 2 years to lose all the weight I wanted to lose and I have been maintaining since April 2011.  I have a Facebook page where I share recipes, food photos, and health related news with my followers.  I’m an advocate of clean eating and I am a vegetarian leaning toward vegan.  Omnivores are welcome on my page though, as long as you are respectful I am happy to have any sort of people to share with.  Through this process I discovered my love of writing and I am currently writing a book, same title as this blog.  I feel like there’s a hole in the Diet Book market that I want to fill- a practical book that doesn’t pretend there’s any magic tricks to weight loss and that approaches healthy living as a life-long goal, not a short-term activity.  I tell people it’s the Diet Book for people who think diet books are stupid, because they are.  And since I’ve been there and done that, I hope that gives me a bit more insight and credibility than your average author.

Yoga is a relatively new part of my life.  I joined Blissful in July 2011.  Prior to that, I had been working out for over 2 years at 24 Hour Fitness.  Although I’m a yoga newbie, I was instantly surprised at some of the things I can do with the strength and stamina I’ve gained from other types of exercise like running, weight lifting, and many group exercise classes.  I’m strong and I have a lot of endurance, but my flexibility is not so great.  This is quickly improving through my yoga practice.

But I am looking for more than just improved flexibility.  I’ve become very interested in the spiritual and philosophical origins of yoga.  In my blogs over the next 30 days I will also share some of the insight I’ve been gaining from my reading on the subject.  I have a lot to share so I know there will be no shortage of material.

____________

While I’m speaking of challenges, I have a new life challenge coming my way in 2012.  I have accepted yet another job transfer and will be moving to northern California in January.  This will bring a whole new set of circumstances to work with and while of course I feel a little anxiety over stepping out of my comfort zone, I am looking forward to taking my new lifestyle to a place where people with my kind of health-oriented attitude are much more common than we are here in Phoenix.  Phoenix has been wonderful for me.  I always tell people that I’m not sure I agree with it, but it certainly agrees with me.  Here I was able to take some major steps forward in my life in some very profound and important ways.  I’ve become a lot more true to myself, more optimistic, more engaged in life, and of course, 126 pounds lighter.

But I’ve known from the beginning that Phoenix is temporary.  I have lived in 3 different cities in the last 5 years and I am ready to stay somewhere for a more extended period of time.  Just not here.  It’s time to move on and so I shall.

You’ll be hearing a lot more from me in the next 30 days, so stay tuned and I will share with you where this 30 day challenge takes me.

❤ Kate

6 thoughts on “Challenges

  1. Question: in the loss of all your weight, are you now dealing iwth excess skin? I know that sounds awful, but I have lost 100 lbs with another almost 100 to go. I am already sad aobut the way the excess skin just IS. I walk daily, so I do excercise. Any advice??

  2. I am excited for your thirty days in studio and on blog 🙂 I’m so thankful and happy you agreed to share this challenge with us! Also looking forward to this weekend’s farmer’s market 🙂

  3. I just did my 1st yoga class on Friday and I kinda liked it…I also have a hard time shutting off my mind and I can see how yoga could be very beneficial to me. I’m going to try it again…and maybe, someday, I’ll try it everyday for 30 days, like you 🙂 Looking forward to your daily blogs.

Leave a Reply

