Yoga

Blissful Yoga 30 Day Challenge – Day 2

Day 2/30

Tonight I had the pleasure of joining Shannon Everett for her Candle Light Yoga Level I/II class.  Shannon has a lovely dramatic way of speaking that makes you listen and hear everything she says.  She intersperses lots of useful and thought-provoking wisdom into her detailed descriptions of how to work each pose.  I also enjoy her music choices.  She had some kind of tribal drum sounding new-agey thing going on tonight I liked quite a bit.  Sometimes I have a hard time hearing modern-day music during yoga classes because I’m such a singer.  Usually, when I hear a song I know, I sing along.  So I often find it hard to not focus on the music.  This problem is relieved by music that’s either in a language I do not understand or has no vocals.

One thing we did tonight was a little Virabhadrasana III (Warrior 3) workshop using the wall, very helpful to me as I find this to be a really difficult pose.  This is what it looks like for those who don’t know:

warrior III
warrior III

Balance?  Not so good.  but I’m getting better!

Both last night, tonight, and Sunday come to think of it, we practiced one of my least favorite poses, Eka Pada Rajakapotasana (Pigeon).  My hips are so tight, I find this pose pretty unpleasant.  Which probably means I need to do it more often.  I don’t mind doing it because I am sure it is good for me, but I do not particularly enjoy it at this point:

pigeon

I guess since I just wrote about two poses that give me a bit of trouble, I will tell you about one I look forward to, Sarvāngāsana (shoulder stand).  I wanted to do it long before I knew what it was called.  If I lay down on my back, I feel like I want to do it.  I could do it all day.  Well, maybe not all day…

shoulder stand

3 thoughts on “Blissful Yoga 30 Day Challenge – Day 2

  1. I’m so glad I found your blog! I really enjoy it.
    I was introduced to Warrior III yesterday…yikes!
    Keep up the great work!

  2. Love your blog. I was never a fan of yoga I guess bc I’m a runner and never had the patience for it – but my hipflexors are screaming for yoga. I tried Bikram hot yoga and I didnt hate it but I didnt love it. What are your thoughts on hot yoga?

    1. I’ve only tried it once and I liked it. I like sweating. I guess the main problem for me is that I wear glasses and they kept slipping off my face 🙂 But I’m blind without them so I feel like I have no balance. I know everyone in the universe wears contacts these days, but I have extremely sensitive eyes and they don’t work for me. If it wasn’t for the glasses thing, I think I’d like it more. I’m trying another hot class on Friday (Day 5) so check back for another review . Glad you like my blog!

Leave a Reply

