Yoga

Blissful Yoga 30 Day Challenge – Day 3

Day 3/30

(FYI- that’s my ribcage, not my boobs.  Just thought it looked kind of funny, teehee)

Tonight was Yoga Sculpt (formerly known as Yoga Wall – same class, just a name change- with Rosa Rendon.  I love Yoga Wall and I love Rosa.  This is my regular class, the one I never miss unless I’m traveling.  Hanging upside-down feels so amazing for my lower back, where I carry most of my stress.  I literally feel taller after this class.  Hmmm, maybe I should measure.

This class starts off with some non-hanging-from-the-wall yoga followed by a lot of challenging poses utilizing the strap.  Sometimes you hang your ankles (like in the photo), sometimes your hips from the front, sometimes your back.  With the strap, you can get into all kinds of poses you can’t without it.  You can defy gravity.  Very cool!  If you ever get a chance to try a class using the Yoga Wall, definitely do it.  It’s my favorite.

____________

A little more from Light on Yoga by B.K.S. Iyengar tonight.  A lot of people think yoga is a stretching/contortionist kind of physical activity.  But practicing asanas (poses) is only one aspect.  The 8 limbs, or stages, of yoga are as follows:

  1. Yama – universal moral commandments
  2. Niyama – self purification by discipline
  3. Asana – posture, a healthy body, being one with nature
  4. Pranayama – rhythmic control of breath
  5. Pratyahara – freeing the mind from the senses
  6. Dharana – concentration
  7. Dhyana – meditation
  8. Samadhi – oneness with the universal spirit

“The yogi does not look heavenward to find God.  He knows that HE is within, being known as Antaratama (the Inner Self)”

As I mentioned before, I’m not a religious person.  I am uncomfortable with the idea of some benevolent man in the sky creating me and/or my destiny, but can entertain the idea of an Inner Self that is the universal spirit.  (I don’t want to talk to much about religion here, just letting you know what about this philosophy makes sense to me).

“Happy is the man who knows how to distinguish the real from the unreal, the eternal from the transient, and the good from the pleasant by his discrimination and wisdom.”

Separating the good from the pleasant speaks to me.  Just because something is fun, or feels good, doesn’t mean it is good or right.  I think many of us who have changed our lifestyles have had to learn this.  I used to think that because I enjoyed sitting around eating chips and watching television, that was enough of a reason to do it.  I now know that pleasant does not necessarily mean good and that the consequences of my actions were not worth the pleasure I got from the chips.  Doing what is good has brought me much more peace, happiness and contentment.

Leave a Reply

