Yoga

Blissful Yoga 30 Day Challenge – Day 4

Day 4/30

Today reminded me of why I am always a bit wary of committing to anything that has a specific time constraint.  Ah, the joys of my job.  When something is due, it’s due NOW and oh, you had plans?  Too bad.  This used to get me really wound up, but I’ve accepted it as a part of this job.  It will not change, so I had to change my reaction.  I try not to make plans close after work because it’s always disappointing when they can’t happen.  And when things get rearranged, I try (try, mind you sometimes I still fail and freak out) not to let it ruin my mood.

But this week has been so very slow, I thought I was safe planning a 4:30 class and going into the office early so I’d be at my requisite 8 hours by 4:00.  Au contraire, everything imploded today.  I knew I wasn’t going to make the 4:30 class by 3:00, so I cancelled it and switched to a 6:00 pm candle light class.  No big deal.  Of course, the 2 cups of coffee I had at 2pm and 3pm didn’t particularly help me to be in a relaxed state of mind, but I made it to my mat nonetheless.

My mind was definitely all over the place, work, what would I have for dinner, I wonder if I will have to go back into the office after the class, thinking about my boyfriend, moving, cats… you name it.  But slowly I let it go and was able to stop thinking about it for about 70% of the class.  Moving or being uncomfortable help me to stop thinking.  As soon as I feel comfortable and relaxed… mind racing again.

We tried a pose I think I may dislike even more than pigeon tonight, frog.  No problem not thinking about work in this baby:

frog

So, sometimes things aren’t perfect and sometimes they don’t go my way.  That’s alright I don’t expect them to.  I have very few moments of ohmygodsofrustratedandpissedoff anymore.  Used to have a lot of  those.  I’m much more able to just go with the flow these days and that’s a beautiful thing.

I’m trying to make another 4:30 class tomorrow, but we’ll see.  Either way, things will turn out fine.

One thought on “Blissful Yoga 30 Day Challenge – Day 4

  1. Thank you for your honesty. You are offering inspiration through your sharing. I really like your path, and I am trying to move in the same direction.
    You are on! I accept your challenge, and will commit to my yoga for one month. Mine is only a beginners home study. I don’t have the transpo or money for a real class. But I value the benefits I get from just doing my own thing. Here’s hoping for an increased sense of clarity and peace over the next thirty days.
    thanks!
    lee ann
    ps I’m also on my way from being on a diet, to improving my diet. I’m doing the weight watchers thing (again) and am feelin’ pretty good!
    Congratulations on your successes, and thanks again for sharing.
    l

Leave a Reply

