Yoga

Blissful Yoga 30 Day Challenge – Day 8

Day 8 (not a lot of space in the Mini cooper boot, but plenty of space for...)

Tonight, being Halloween (remind me to turn off the porch light), the latest class was at 4:30.  I wasn’t feeling so hot this morning (headache) so I used one of my delightful sick days.  Sitting in bed most of the day seemed to clear that up enough for me to make the 4:30 Fusion class at North Phoenix.

Great class!  This is the second class I’ve taken with Erin in two days and I like her style.  Very athletic and challenging, great energy.  I wasn’t feeling 100% myself, so it was a challenge, but I was glad I went nonetheless.  I’m over 25% finished with the challenge and it feels uphill right now.  I will try to take some slower, more restorative classes this week to get my energy levels back to normal.

______________

More from Light on Yoga by B.K.S. Iyengar:

Chitta: mind. Vritti: wave, the action of rolling, modification, way of being

Chitta Vritti

These are the causes of modification of the mind creating pain or pleasure according to Patanjali’s Yoga Sutras (on my reading list):

  1. Pramana: standard or ideal by which things are measured
  2. Viparyaya: a mistaken view backed up by observation
  3. Vikalpa: imagination/fancy
  4. Nidra: sleep, the absence of ideas and experiences
  5. Smrti: memory, holding on to the past.

That last one speaks to me, personally.  “There are people who live in their past experiences, even though the past is beyond recall.  Their sad or happy memories keep them chained to the past and they cannot break their fetters.”

Many of us can likely relate to that, I know I can.

Patanjali then enumerates 5 causes of chitta vritti creating pain:

  1. Avidya: ignorance
  2. Asmita: individuality making a person believe he/she is apart from the group
  3. Raga: attachment or passion
  4. Dvesa: aversion or revulsion
  5. Abhinivesa: clinging to worldly life in fear

“These causes of pain remain submerged int he mind of the aspirant.  They are like icebergs barely showing their heads in polar seas.”

“As a breeze ruffles the surface of a lake and distorts the images reflected therein, so also the chitta vritti disturb the peace of the mind.  The still waters of the lake reflect the beauty around it.  When the mind is still, the beauty of the Self is seen reflected in it.”

Leave a Reply

