Cooking

Recipe: Vegan Apple Cabbage Roast

big organic green cabbage

I’ve had this beautiful, gigantic head of cabbage for 2 weeks and it was time to do something with it.  I looked through quite a few cabbage and apple dishes, but they all seemed to contain copious amounts of sugar, butter and breadcrumbs.  I wanted to makes something lighter so I just did my own thing.  I am very pleased with the result.  It’s lightly sweet because of the apples, but it is mostly savory. This would make an excellent side dish on Thanksgiving.

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 large head of cabbage or 1 whole small head
  • 3 gala apples
  • 2 tbsp coconut oil
  • Cumin
  • Paprika
  • Salt
I'll use the other half raw in salads.

Cooking:

  1. Roughly chop cabbage
  2. In a large pot, bring water to a boil, add cabbage, boil 5 minutes, drain
  3. Cut apples into small pieces.  I leave the skin on.  Peel if desired.
  4. Toss apples and cabbage together in a large pyrex dish
  5. Sprinkle cumin, paprika and salt on top (maybe 1-2 tsp each)
  6. Drizzle coconut oil over top, stir together
  7. Cover and bake at 350 degrees for 45 min
  8. Uncover, stir, and bake another 15-20 minutes or until there are some brown bits on top
before baking
Vegan Cabbage Apple Roast

Nutritional Information per serving (8 servings)

80 calories, 12 g carbohydrates, 4 g fat, 1 g protein

3 thoughts on “Recipe: Vegan Apple Cabbage Roast

  1. Oh goodness. That looks so delicious. K8, thank you for your posts. I found a place that does the organic drop off. They deliver it to my house or job. Friday will be my first delivery. I’m so excited! Thank you for your blog, you are an inspiration.

Leave a Reply

