Yoga

Blissful Yoga 30 Day Challenge – Day 25

Day 25

Got out of work early enough to make it to Rene’s 4:30 wall class- only there were no straps today… Sad!  I wanted to try another handstand.  So I did some half handstands on the wall instead.  And with Rene’s help I did a full headstand!  Cool.

I’d say my most needed areas of improvement are my hips and hamstrings for flexibility and my core strength.  I have pretty good leg and arm strength.  I have some lower back issues (degenerative disc, L6 & L7, the usual) that used to give me a lot of pain.  That’s much better since I’ve been working out for the past 3 years so regularly, but it’s not completely 100% better.  I think that’s my main issue with core strength though, protecting my lower back.

I read that hips are often tight for people who run and I was doing a fair bit of running for awhile there… and weight lifting… and very little stretching.  Oops!  Definitely need to improve that.  I don’t want to be a stiff old lady before my time.  I think I am going to try doing hip opening poses in the morning or before bed, just like 10 or 15 min, after the 30 days end.  I think really making any progress there probably needs to be a daily activity.

3 thoughts on “Blissful Yoga 30 Day Challenge – Day 25

  1. What are some hip opeing poses? I have tightness in my hips and hamstrings as well and would love to find something that would help make me more flexible. Thx!

Leave a Reply

