Yoga

Blissful Yoga 30 Day Challenge – Day 30!

30 days

Finished off the challenge with Tracy’s Hot Flow 2 class tonight!  That’s 30 days of yoga and 30 days of blogging as soon as I hit “publish”.

Practicing yoga every day is great.  I enjoyed every single class.  Anything negative I’ve said about doing this was more about what I have had to miss to do it, such as other classes I love at the gym or my usual cardio workouts.  If I had a less demanding job or there were somehow more hours in the day, I would love to practice in a class setting every day.  Unfortunately that is not the case.  It has been a challenge to make it every day, but I am proud of myself for doing it and I know it has been very beneficial for me.

I see lots of improvement in my practice, from strength to balance to simple understanding.  Mentally I feel less stressed and I definitely appreciate the gift of taking time for myself daily.  I have also learned that if I dedicate myself to doing something, I can and will do it even if it is inconvenient.   Here is a run-down of the classes I took during the 30 days:

  1. Bliss Flow
  2. Candle Light I/II
  3. Yoga Sculpt (wall)
  4. Candle Light
  5. Hot Yoga II
  6. Yoga Fusion (core)
  7. Power (vinyasa)
  8. Yoga Fusion (core)
  9. Bliss Flow
  10. Yoga Sculpt (wall)
  11. Yoga Sculpt (wall)
  12. Restorative
  13. Hot Flow I
  14. Intro to Meditation and Philosophy of Yoga
  15. Yoga Fusion (core)
  16. Hot Flow II
  17. Yoga Sculpt (wall)
  18. Hot Flow II
  19. Restorative
  20. Hot Flow I
  21. Power (vinyasa)
  22. Bliss Flow
  23. Hot Flow II
  24. Yoga Sculpt (wall)
  25. Yoga Sculpt
  26. Restorative
  27. Hot Flow I
  28. Toning the Pelvic Floor
  29. Bliss Flow
  30. Hot Flow II

A few things I learned about myself and yoga:

I LOVE hot yoga.  As soon as it got a little chilly outside, hot yoga became extremely appealing (that happened on the 13th class).  I love the sweat, I love the humidity, and I love how much more flexible the heat makes me.  When I move, I may be checking out some studios that are only Hot classes.  I feel like the ideal thing for me would be a few hot classes a week, as early in the morning as possible.

I dislike restorative yoga.  It’s slightly more appealing after a margarita, but generally I find laying there doing not much of anything very, very difficult.  My brain goes all over the place.  I also find it brings out my aches and pains- especially my back.  Maybe my back just doesn’t like those poses for that length of time.  Perhaps I’m just not in the right state of mind for it at the moment, with so many thoughts going through my head.

My hips are the most in need of help when it comes to flexibility.  Because of this, I am planning to incorporate hip opening poses into my day daily.  Just 10-15 min before bed probably, but I need to open up my hips if I want to progress forward.

It’s tempting to immediately challenge myself to do something else, but right now I need to dedicate myself to preparing for moving.  I will continue going to the gym and yoga classes, but I need to be flexible because I have a lot of travel and work ahead of me this month, not to mention the holidays.   But I have some ideas in mind for 30 day challenges I would like to try in the future.

Blogging daily has been challenging as well.  Making words come when I don’t really feel like it isn’t something I’m accustomed to doing.  I blog because I have things to say, so when I don’t have things to say, I don’t blog!  I hope to continue blogging more frequently than I was, but again I need to be respectful of my time and how stretched thin I already am.

So there, it is, 30 days complete!  I feel accomplished and I’m really glad I did this

3 thoughts on “Blissful Yoga 30 Day Challenge – Day 30!

  1. Yay! Congratulations on completing your challenge…it always feels terrific to set a goal like that and then see it all the way through. I’ve enjoyed following along on your yoga journey. I am thinking that I may follow your lead and do some 30 day personal challenges myself. Thanks so much for sharing. It’s been fun to see how things progressed for you and it’s inspiring to me.

  2. I am the opposite – dislike hot yoga (too much like “working out at the gym” for me) and love restorative yoga. While part of yoga practice is to become more flexible and in touch with your body, the other part is to calm the mind and enhance the mind/body connection. I found it very difficult to just lie there and keep my thoughts from jumping around when I first started, but over the years it has gotten easier. I find that once my mind is calm, everything else (the physical) falls into place too.

Leave a Reply

