inspiration

Curvy Girls are NOT Better than Skinny Girls

There is a Facebook page called “Curvy Girls are Better than Skinny Girls”.  Several of my friends and acquaintances “like” this page.  Even though I consider myself “curvy” I do not like the page.  Here’s why.

I know people think they are just celebrating themselves when they follow this page, but celebrating yourself does not need to include putting someone else down.  If the page was called “Curvy Girls are Awesome” I might follow it, if I liked the content.  However, I know for a fact that the last thing we women need is another way to fight against ourselves.  I mean “better”?  Really?

No, curvy girls are NOT better than skinny girls.  Nor are skinny girls better than curvy girls.  We are all different.  Saying that your body shape makes you “better” than somebody else is just plain stupid.  Next tall girls are better than short girls, or how about blonde girls are better than brunette girls, or maybe black girls are better than white girls?  Whoa, Nelly!  That’s some dangerous territory right there.  But isn’t it pretty much the same thing when you think about it?

I’m tired of the practice of putting other women down to make yourself feel better.  Whether it’s a thin woman insulting a heavy woman or a heavy woman insulting a thin woman, it’s wrong.  We don’t need to insult anyone to celebrate ourselves.  Period.

The world would be a better place.
The world would be a better place.

9 thoughts on “Curvy Girls are NOT Better than Skinny Girls

  1. So glad a friend pointed me toward your blog. Your level headed, reasonable approach to life is such a blessing. Loved your blog equating health with healthy *actions*. Downright liberating! Thanks for sharing your path with us.

  2. Agreed. I am a member of that page and the title bugs me. I must say, however, that I didn’t join to dis skinny girls but to just as you mentioned, celebrate my (and others) “curviness”.

    And then the other day I say a pin on Pinterest that said “Curvy is not the same as rolls!” or something actually trying to divide the “curvy” community into two camps! Sigh. People need to just stop.

  3. Amen sister! Seriously, now that I’ve become healthy sometimes I feel bad when I read about curvy girls being celebrated as if it means being thin isn’t as acceptable these days, as if it’s unhealthy. It makes me feel like something is wrong with me not having curves. Heck, when I was obese I still never had any curves. Wasn’t my fault, it’s just genetics. I appreciate what you have to say about this. 🙂

  4. I agree with every word spoken here. Putting down others in order to feel better defenitally not the right way of making a better and stronger self esteam and self cofidence. women should be much more aware to their body, and have less critisizm on it.
    well spoken! i loved it very much 🙂

  5. I agree with every word spoken here. Putting down others in order to feel better defenitally not the right way of making a better and stronger self esteam and self cofidence. women should be much more aware to their body, and have less critisizm on it.

Leave a Reply

