Cooking

Cream of Wheat with Raspberries and Almonds

new years day breakfast 2014
new years day breakfast 2014

I freakin love Cream of Wheat cereal.  It reminds me of when I was a little kid.  My mom used to put butter, milk, and brown sugar in it.  I make it a little bit differently, but it’s still ultra delicious and nostalgia-inducing.

I tried Cream of Rice last week on a whim, thinking I could recommend it as a gluten free alternative for those who care about that.  Unfortunately it was gross.  Apparently, gluten is the source of all goodness… I kid, I kid.  (it is good though, if you aren’t allergic to it.  mmmmm gluten)

Anyway, if you are gluten free, I would recommend Cream of Buckwheat cereal.  It’s pretty good.  Much better than Cream of Rice.

If not, enjoy:

1. Cook Cream of Wheat according to package.  I used 1/2 whole milk and 1/2 water.  I have also used almond milk.  Any sort of milk will do.  Add coconut oil while cooking.

2. Stir in brown sugar, crushed almonds, and fresh raspberries.  I crush my almonds by putting them in a ziplock back and whacking them with a hammer.  Cooking is always better with hammers.

Happy New Year 2014!

Leave a Reply

